Re: Chord Progression

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Posted by Shaggy on September 13, 2002 at 21:28:11:

In Reply to: Chord Progression posted by T on September 12, 2002 at 12:22:58:

: Been learning harp for a while now and can 'fake' it as far as the blues go. My problem is CHORD PROGRESSION. I have no other musical experience aside from what I've learned in the context of Harp. My question: If I am in a I bar (or a IV or V) do I want to START that bar with the I note (2 draw) or FINISH on the I note? This is more a problem for the IV and V bars, I just can't seem to get it right. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm pretty much in the same boat as you in regard to musical knowlege. The only real musical education I've had is from the books I've read on harp playing.

But do you start or finish a bar on the tonic of its related chord? Well, it's not quite as simple as that. Most of the time you'll want to begin a bar on the tonic, but you may want to end on it, and sometimes you'll want to do both, but you may also do neither, as long as the bar is dominated by the proper chord. The thing about a chord progression is that it is just that: a progression. It's not always as cut and dried as "This bar contains this chord, that bar contains that chord and the next bar contains some other chord." Chords naturally lead on from one another in a more or less fluid progression.