Re: need help with chromatic

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Posted by Jimmy K on January 27, 2003 at 15:22:34:

In Reply to: Re: need help with chromatic posted by Jeremy Steinberg on January 24, 2003 at 17:15:33:

: : I recently read a message on this board about buy ing a chromatic. i am new at the harp and wondering if a chromatic would help me learn any faster. i have a lot of spare time to mess with the one i have. i have learned alot from this site and still learning more. it's was said that the chromatic would open new doors for dirrerent styles,tones,sound. it would seem to me that would make sence. AM I WRONG????
: : thanks for the input... Jimmy K

: Hello Jimmy -

: A chromatic harmonica will definitely open new doors in terms of tone, technique, size, style, etc. It is also a more complicated instrument in some ways - because of the slide, and the fact that a chromatic harp offers the 12 note chromatic scale, where your typical diatonic harp (what you've been playing on) has an 8 note diatonic scale (assuming you can't do overblows, full step bends, etc).

: It is typically harder to bend chromatic reeds, than it is diatonic reeds, though you can do it. Some very good chromatic harmonica players to listen to, are Toots Thielemans (primarily jazz), Tommy Morgan (all kinds of music), Dave McKelvey (popular, blues, etc.), Carey Bell (blues), Paul Delay (blues, funk), William Clark (blues), Pete Pederson and Ron Kalina (jazz), etc. Even Larry Adler for classical!

: Most chromatics are either 3 octave, or 4 octave. Hohner, Hering, Suzuki, and Huang are some of the manufacturers. I llike 4-octave chromatics, because of the extra range. My favorite off-the-shelf chromatic is a Hohner Super 64x with the lucite comb and black cover plates. They run nearly $200. But others like the Hering, and the others. Different folks, different strokes...